• Nelson Jarrin

Nelson Jarrin Shatters Fundraising Goal and Releases Updated List of Community Endorsements

Updated: Feb 4

Round Rock, TX – Today, Republican candidate Nelson Jarrin (R-Round Rock) announced that his campaign had raised nearly $120,000 since launching his bid for House District 52 in August. The six-figure total surpassed the campaign’s October fundraising goal with more than two weeks to spare.

The announcement follows news that Democrat incumbent James Talarico (D-Round Rock) will not seek reelection to HD 52 following the conclusion of the redistricting process in the Texas House of Representatives. Talarico has stated his intention to move to Austin and run for the HD 50 seat being vacated by Representative Celia Israel (D-Pflugerville).

“House District 52 is ready for a return to commonsense conservative values, and I’m ready to provide this incredible community with the representation it deserves in the Texas House,” said Jarrin. “Our campaign’s momentum over these past several weeks has been nothing short of remarkable. I’m honored to have the support of so many respected community and grassroots leaders and grateful for

every donation we’ve received, big and small. As your next State Representative, you can trust that I’ll never run from a fight; I’ll work every day to ensure that HD 52 remains the best place in Texas to live, work, and raise a family.”

Jarrin also released his full list of community endorsements in the race for House District 52:


Associated Republicans of Texas

Hispanic Republicans of Texas

Texas Latino Conservatives

Elected Officials

Senator Charles Schwertner, M.D. – Texas State Senator, Senate District 5

Representative Cody Harris – Texas State Representative, House District 8

Representative J.M. Lozano – Texas State Representative, House District 43

Josh Schroeder – Georgetown Mayor

Scott Heselmeyer – Williamson County Treasurer

Charlie Culpepper – Former Round Rock Mayor

Kristin Stevens – Round Rock City Council Member

Michelle Ly – Round Rock City Council Member

Will Peckham – Former Round Rock City Council Member

Paul Leal – Williamson County Constable, Precinct 4

Jeremiah D. Williams – Upper Brushy Creek WCID

Ella Pumphery Jez – Former Taylor Mayor Pro-Tem

Republican Precinct Chairs

Rick Pitts – Precinct Chair 122

Warren Gillespie – Precinct Chair 172

Kristin Stevens – Precinct Chair 182

Jeremiah D. Williams – Precinct Chair 202

August Alvarado – Precinct Chair 337

Maria Garza Brown – Former Precinct Chair 337

Cathey Doss – GOP Precinct Chair 368

Annette Maruska – GOP Precinct Chair 427

Larry Stromberg – GOP Precinct Chair 434

Pat Werner – GOP Precinct Chair 456

Russ Collins – GOP Precinct Chair 463

Diana Halcomb – Precinct Chair 484

Community Leaders

Jim Schwertner – Former Regent, Texas A&M University System

John S. Avery – Round Rock

Trent Christianson – Round Rock

Steve Stapp – Round Rock

Karen Cole – Georgetown

Mike Hewlett – Georgetown

Andy Webb – Georgetown

Betty Schleder – Sun City

Bryon Borchers – Hutto

Dwayne & Marie Ariola – Taylor

Ernest Ariola, Jr. – Taylor

Jim Jirasek – Taylor

Jim Buzan – Taylor

Sam Dowdy – Taylor

Keith & Marcia Hagler – Taylor

Mike Payne – Jarrell

From 2013-2015, Nelson served as the Legislative Director and General Counsel for State Senator Charles Schwertner, who has represented Williamson County since 2012. As one of Schwertner’s most trusted advisors, Nelson managed the Senator’s legislative agenda, specializing in healthcare, tax policy, transportation, and the state budget.

Nelson earned his law degree from the University of Notre Dame Law School, where he graduated magna cum laude. During his time at Notre Dame, he served as President of the Hispanic Law Students Association. Before law school and work in the transportation industry, Nelson graduated summa cum laude from Texas A&M University with a bachelor’s degree in economics.

Nelson is a graduate of Leadership Round Rock and an active member of the local community. He lives in Round Rock with his wife Kristin, a registered nurse, and their young daughter, Noelle, a student in Round Rock ISD. They attend Celebration Church in Williamson County.